CFUW Ontario Council 2020 AGM & SGM

To view the OC 2020 Year in Review video shown at the AGM and the SGM, click here!

The first virtual Ontario Council Annual General Meeting was held on May 23rd, 2020 but not all agenda items could be dealt with in the scheduled meeting times, and were deferred until August 15th, when a 2nd special virtual meeting was held. In response to a number of questions arising from our first virtual AGM, FAQs were assembled by our Parliamentarian Myra Willis and Tech Support Elizabeth Haynes.

Clubs unable to have a voting delegate at the August 15th Special General Meeting (SGM) were entitled to vote by proxy by completing a Proxy Form – Club Delegate. Proxy forms were submitted by e-mail to

The Ontario Council Nominations Committee was pleased to have received a number of nomination and application forms for Director positions on the Ontario Council Board.  Elections took place at the SGM on August 15th. (The eligibility requirements for Director positions are outlined in our Bylaws, clause 2.05.)    

The following candidates provided their nomination package during the published nominations period and stood for election at the SGM.  

Regional Directors:

Elana Freeman, ON West (CFUW Windsor)

Anne Cordon, ON East ((CFUW Peterborough)

Roline Maconachie, ON North (CFUW Orillia) 

Lori Ker,  ON Huron (CFUW Orangeville)

Advocacy ChairJudy Gay (CFUW Kingston)  

Communications ChairIngrid Sproxton (CFUW Orangeville)

Legislation Committee Chair: Lisa Long (CFUW Sudbury)

Human Rights and Status of Women Committee ChairSandra Shaw (CFUW Perth)

Nominations for director positions were allowed “from the floor” at the virtual SGM as per the Ontario Corporations Act.  Proposed candidates must meet the eligibility criteria as per Bylaws clause 2.05 and be registered and in attendance at the virtual SGM.

The nominee for President must have served at least one (1) term on the Ontario Council Board or in leadership position with CFUW Ontario Council.

Candidates for the following positions were nominated from the floor:

  • President – Sandra Thomson (CFUW Kincardine)
  • Secretary – Teri Shaw (CFUW Oakville)
  • Treasurer – Teresa Habs (CFUW Barrie)
  • Chair, Education Standing Committee – Wendy Taylor (CFUW Orillia)
  • Regional Director, ON Central – Judith Pownall (CFUW Markham-Unionville)
  • Regional Director, ON South
    • Marianne Singh-Wariach (CFUW Burlington)
    • Joyce See (CFUW Oakville) – successful candidate

Nomination form

Application form

Should there have been no candidates nominated for a position, the incumbents would have continued in those positions until they resigned or until their successors were elected or appointed as per Bylaws clause 2.06.

Comments are closed.